Frequently Asked Questions About Real Estate Appraisers

Are all New Hampshire appraisers licensed and certified?
No, it is not mandatory that all appraisers in NH be licensed or certified. However, it is required to complete appraisals for lenders and most state and federal agencies.

What type of licensed and certified appraisers are there?
There are four categories of appraisers in NH:

What type of education do real estate apprasiers need?
Beginning in 2008 each level must successfully complete the specified hours of approved real estate appraisal courses for each level of licensure, which includes at least 15 hours on the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP).

The specified hours are:

  1. Applicants for a Certified Residential Appraiser certificate show proof of at least 2,500 hours of appraisal experience obtained in no fewer than 24 months.
  2. Applicants for a Certified General Appraiser certificate shall show proof of at least 3,000 hours of appraisal experience obtained in no fewer than 30 months. At least 50% must be non-residential.

Why do you need a certified real estate appraiser?
Appraising real estate for partial interests, eminent domain and conservation easements typically present unique problems that you don't ordinarily encounter in appraisals for sale, refinance, insurance or other purposes. Therefore, selecting an experienced certified real estate appraiser is critical.